Travel Theme : Flowers

A theme this week very close to my heart. Ailsa of “Where’s my backpack?” Has given us a glorious example of flowers and what can be done with them.

I am going back to 2010 and our year-long trip around Australia for my flower memories. I planned the trip so that we would be in Western Australia to coincide with the wild flower season. I had heard so much about the incredible displays, the huge variety and dazzling masses of colour. To drive along and see so much beauty was like a dream come true. We would stop to take a photo and then wander off into the surrounding area entranced at the variety, many of the flowers so tiny but exquisite. The excitement when we found orchids so small but perfect in detail is indescribable.

We started in the northern part of the state in July and slowly moved south following the season as it spread south. It was 3 months of flower heaven.

I have so many photos it is hard to choose which ones to put in this post so I am putting in a slide show. I hope I have captured the beauty and magic of this amazing area. I believe it is one of the natural wonders of the world.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

These are only a very small sample of what we saw.

Categories: Australia, flowers, flowers, memories, photography, travel theme, Western Australia | Tags: , , , , | 21 Comments

Post navigation

21 thoughts on “Travel Theme : Flowers

  1. Picked you up at wheresyourbackpack. This display is amazing and your trip must have been incredible. I love the crinkley orange flower. You know the one. Unknown name? :-). Funny. It would be nice to know, but still, so cute and crumpled like bright orange tissue paper. Thanks for the show. Wish their was a sequel. f&f.

    • Loved your comment about the orange tissue paper, yes an apt description. Yes alot of the flowers are called unknown name!!! so many flowers it is overwhelming.

  2. ‘walking through a field of dreams’ image make feel so freshy , thank for nice picture

  3. Thanks so much for sharing these images from your Australian journey with us – a wonderful, colorful gallery!

  4. Such unusual and beautiful flowers. That pink orchid is amazing and the Kangaroo Paw fascinating.

    • Thank you for comment. That orchid is quite small but looks as though it has been polished, it is amazing

  5. I love your pictures! 🙂

  6. Stunning slide show.

    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

  7. Thank you for the beautiful slides! Great post!

  8. Oh my gosh, these are so beautiful and so unusual. Great post.

  9. Oh pommepal, how exciting, so many stunning flowers and many of them totally unknown to me. The kangaroo paw is brilliant. and the donkey orchid made me laugh, what a perfect name 🙂

    • Thanks Ailsa, I always look forward to your weekly themes, they inspire me. I appreciate your comments,

  10. What a beautiful series of photos–just gorgeous.

  11. Pingback: Cee’s Fun Foto Challenge : Orange « Memories are made of this

I would love to get to know you, please leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

