Travel Theme : Up

Terrific theme this week from Ailsa of “Where’s my backpack?”. UP! There are lots of very talented bloggers posting their interpretations on this link. So click over there for a look…

I love looking up, it gives me a whole new perspective on the world around me.

I can see you

I can see you

He is waving to me...

He is waving to me…

She has a nest among these rocks

She has a nest among these rocks

Galahs are very cheeky Australian parrots. They make lovely pets and can be trained to talk. I love the colour combination of pink and grey.

Rock formations are also very interesting to look up at…

What shall I call this one?

What shall I call this one?

This one is called Nixon. Remember him?

This one is called Nixon. Remember him?

I think I will call this one Jack....

I think I will call this one Jack….

Trees tower above us and always make me feel quite insignificant when I gaze up into their canopy.

The mighty Aussie gum tree

The mighty Aussie gum tree

Look up at the debris caught in the branches. That is the height the flood water raged through

Look up at the debris caught in the branches. That is the height the flood water raged through

This tree top walk takes you up into the canopy

This tree top walk takes you up into the canopy

You need to look up to see all the interesting architectural details on buildings.

Melbourne, bee happy...

Melbourne, bee happy…

Many of the buildings in Oamaru, NZ, were built in the Victorian era, with lots of beautiful detail

Many of the buildings in Oamaru, NZ, were built in the Victorian era, with lots of beautiful detail

Korean old heritage buildings have amazing folk art and colours. They are also well preserved

Korean old heritage buildings have amazing folk art and colours. They are also well-preserved

This is a John Hawes church, but I did not make a note of it and now cannot remember where it was. Do you do silly things like that???

This is a John Hawes church, but I did not make a note of it and now cannot remember where it was. Do you do silly things like that???

In Geraldton I stood in awe in front of this amazing and quite unique war memorial. It commanded an imposing view across the ocean and the canopy depicted seagulls to commemorate the number of men that went to war and never came back.

Geraldton war memorial

Geraldton war memorial

Geraldton war memorial

Geraldton war memorial

First snow of winter

First snow of winter

Southern Alps New Zealand reflected in all their glory

Southern Alps New Zealand reflected in all their glory

You can look no further up than the sky and what a beautiful and ever changing sight. you

You can look no further up than the sky and what a beautiful, ever-changing and inspirational sight.

Categories: photography, travel theme, up | Tags: , , | 13 Comments

Post navigation

13 thoughts on “Travel Theme : Up

  1. I love looking up at architectural features from different angles. Some of my best photographs are of unusual angles … and my memories of looking up and seeing the buildings with fresh eyes. One of the best things I read from a travel blog was to look at new ways of photographing some of the most photographed icons! Also meant I looked at them in a new way! I love your photographs!

    • Thank you Denny for stopping by for a look at my blog and the lovely comment you have left. Photography makes me look at things with different eyes. I love to look for the way light falls on things, especially architecture, and try to get a 3D effect in landscapes, not always successfully

  2. Wow, you have a wonderful collection of UP photos

  3. i love the last one, such an archetypical aussie scene, beautifully photographed …. and of course those gorgeous cheeky galahs!

  4. But don’t forget to look down. 🙂 and I was so upset when one told me I am a galah ! 😦 … excellent photographs. I like most of them that I can’t found here in my home. Thanks a lot for sharing.

    • Oh yes you must look down to see where your feet are going. Actually to be called a galah by an Australian is almost a term of endearment

  5. poppytump

    You’ve put alot of effort into looking up PP ! I do appreciate it 🙂
    I love those birdies .

    • G’day Poppytump, thanks for stopping by for a look-see and leaving a lovely comment. Those pink and grey galahs are just about the friendliest of Aussie parrotts I have lots of photos of them

I would love to get to know you, please leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

