Cee’s Fun Foto Challenge : Black and White

I do not take black and white photos so this challenge from Cee of “Cee photography” was a double-edged challenge as I went to Photoshop to “play” with colour photos.

When we were in New Zealand the Tauranga Jazz festival weekend was happening (click on the link to see more photos). The weather was perfect and it was a very lively, fun-filled and musical outing. The vintage car club also held a rally the same weekend. Beautifully restored vehicles and the proud owners dressed in period costumes. Jack took some great photos which he has let me use to convert to vintage style photos.

So thank you Cee for the challenge I have had lots of fun playing with these photos…

converted to sepia and given a vignette and frame using Photoshop

converted to sepia and given a vignette and frame using Photoshop

Proud owners in period costume with their pride and joy. Jazz festival, (photo by Jack)

Proud owners in period costume with their pride and joy. Jazz festival, (photo by Jack)

 

Converted to sepia then given a vignette and frame using photoshop

Converted to sepia then given a vignette and frame using Photoshop

Beautiful young ladies in period costumes (photo by Jack)

Beautiful young ladies in period costumes (photo by Jack)

Next I found a couple of photos I had taken of old derelict barns, one from New Zealand, one from Australia. I really gave the New Zealand barn the “works” playing around with the filters in Photoshop.

Derelict New Zealand barn Photo shopped using charcoal filter

Derelict New Zealand barn Photo shopped using charcoal filter

Derelict New Zealand barn

Derelict New Zealand barn

Old Aussie barn converted to black and white in photoshop

Old Aussie barn converted to black and white in Photoshop

Old Australian barn

I have put the original photos to compare them and I think I still prefer the colour versions. What do you think.

Pop over to Cee’s post to see what other people have done.

 

 

 

 

Categories: black and white, black and white, Cee's fun foto challenge, photography, photoshop | Tags: , , , | 11 Comments

Post navigation

11 thoughts on “Cee’s Fun Foto Challenge : Black and White

  1. You did a very good job! 🙂

  2. Nothing wrong with being a very black and white person! Enjoyed this post.

  3. Sandra

    I think the black & white effect lends ‘atmosphere’ to the photos, but like you I think I prefer to see things in colour, as in life..

    • Yes the vintage sort of photo sort of puts it in the era but I still like landscapes in colour I think the monochrome takes out the beauty

  4. I thought about showing the color and black and white. You did a superb job!!! Wonderful!!!

  5. well done, if only i had the courage to try .. or the time!

I would love to get to know you, please leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

