Have you ever heard of Quorn?

Many, many years ago I used to use mince a lot, it was cheap, it was versatile and easy to make meals the children loved, Spag Boll, meat loaf, shepherds pie. Remember all those old favourites?

Red meat is not in our diet these days, though now and then I drool over the old recipe books. So when I was browsing through the freezers in the super market and I came across a packet of Quorn and reading the back decided I would use it to make a rich tomatoe bolognaise sauce.

It was quick …

The ingrediants

The ingredients

Cook from frozen. Looks like mince...
 
Cook from frozen. Looks like mince…

 

The Ingredients

  • Packet of Quorn
  • One onion
  • Tin of diced tomatoes
  • Garlic
  • Fist full of herbs

 

Add tomatoes

Add tomatoes

 

 

 

 

  •  I diced an onion, fried it with garlic.
  •   Added the Quorn and stirred it in for 3 minutes
  •   Added a tin of diced tomatoes (I know this is cheating, but easy)
      Finally a fist full of chopped herbs from the garden
  •    Served it with steamed beans and broccoli

 

Lunch is ready

Lunch is ready

I put it in front of Jack and asked for his opinion. “Very tasty” was the reply, ” but you know I don’t like to eat red meat”

He was amazed that it wasn’t meat…

The main ingredient in Quorn is “Mycoprotein”. I had never heard of it so I googled it, I got 22,000 results…

This is what Wikipedia told me…

“Mycoprotein is defined in the Oxford English Dictionary as: “the albuminoid which is the principal constituent of the protoplasm of the cell.” “Myco” is from the Greek word for “fungus“.

Mycoprotein means protein from fungi. The main mycoprotein on sale in Europe and North America is called Quorn. It was originally developed as a food source to combat food shortages. [1]

A fungus called Fusarium venenatum is the main source of mycoprotein. The fungus is grown in vats using glucose syrup as food. This Fusarium sp. respires aerobically, so for it to grow at an optimum rate, it is supplied with oxygen. To make protein, nitrogen (in the form of ammonia) is added, and vitamins and minerals are needed to support growth. The vat is kept at a constant temperature, also optimized for growth; The fungus can double its mass every five hours.

The fermentation vat is filled with the growth medium, and then inoculated with the spores. When the desired amount of mycoprotein has been created, the growth medium is drawn off from a tap at the bottom of the fermenter. The mycoprotein is separated and purified. It is a pale yellow solid with a faint taste of mushrooms. Different flavours and tastes can be added to the mycoprotein to add variety.

The protein is a form of single cell protein (SCP) and was first produced in the early 1980s.

About one in 140,000 consumers are sensitive to mycoproteins.[2][3] The Centre for Science in the Public Interest claims this may result in “vomiting, nausea, diarrhoea, hives and potentially fatal anaphylactic reactions.”[4]

It appears there is a great deal of controversy about Quorn (this was another interesting post I read). It is very much a manufactured product and even though it tasted OK and was quick and easy to use after reading about it I don’t think I will use it again.

So has any one out there used it and what was your opinion of it?

 

 

 

 

Categories: food, memories, Quorn | Tags: , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Have you ever heard of Quorn?

  1. Looks delicious. I had not heard of Quorn before and will look for it at the grocery store.

    • It is in the freezer, but after reading all the controversy I think I will just have it in the freezer for an occasional standby

  2. Sandra

    I have heard of Quorn, it’s been available in UK for many years, but I’ve never tried it. I think vegetarians use it along with tofu to make non meat meals. I often used to wonder whether it’s named after the Leicestershire village of Quorndon, which is usually know as Quorn (famous for the Quorn Hunt) near Melton Mowbray; I lived close to the Quorn kennels, in Barrow- on- Soar for a couple of years, hence my interest.

    • Yes Sandra the fungus they use was found in that area. I don’t think I will use it again after reading about it, very much a manufactured product.

I would love to get to know you, please leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

