Thursday’s lingering look at windows : Week 10

OOPS!!! I am a day late this week, but would like to share this series of window photos that Jack took…

(Jack has an interesting blog of thoughts, poems and photos. Click here to visit http://jacksjottings.wordpress.com/ )….

We were in the South Island of New Zealand at the small township of Whataroa a peaceful, tranquil place located midway between  the Franz Josef Glacier and Ross at the gateway to the glacier region and the Westland Tai Poutini National Park. Looking for somewhere to eat our lunch we walked along the banks of the Whataroa River and found this old rustic shelter…

Rustic shelter on the banks of the river

Rustic shelter on the banks of the Whataroa river

View of the river

View of the river from inside the shelter

As we sat enjoying the view and eating our lunch this head suddenly appeared in the window. Jack could not resist taking a photo.

One of the locals strolls by

One of the locals strolls by

Of course we had to have a chat. He was one of the friendly locals and loves coming here. He was more than happy to let Jack take his photo.

What do you think of the hairstyle? It must’ve taken years to cultivate it…

Hey man how yer doing?

Hey man how yer doing?

**************************************

Each week on Thursday Dawn of “the day after” asks that we post photos of windows we have come across. Having this weekly challenge opens your eyes to the amazing type and style of windows you can find. See what you can find, you may like to show them off in this challenge.

Categories: lingering look at windows, New Zealand, photography, week 10 | Tags: , , , | 13 Comments

Post navigation

13 thoughts on “Thursday’s lingering look at windows : Week 10

  1. Love this post……

  2. Wow, these are great. I especially love the one of the young man through the window. It almost looks like a painting. You should tell Jack to post some on his page and tag them to the challenge. We will gladly let him play along too. Thanks for sharing. And now I am off to check out his jottings.

  3. I adore the photos and I love those hair locs. I look forward to seeing more of your blog. 😊

    • Welcome to my land down under, pleased you dropped by and appreciate the comment. His dread locks were really amazing weren’t they?

      • Yes, I admire loc hairstyles. My hair is also in locs. Can you recognize it on my profile photo? I refuse to declare that they are “dreads” though. There’s nothing *dread* about me. 😊
        Anyway, come visit my blog. And either peruse, “like” and or make yourself at home there. Meanwhile, I hope to return to your blog to read more soon. Cheers!!

        Your neighbor,
        ~Yahobahne

        • I have just popped over to your place and you have a lovely blog-space, I agree there is nothing “dread” about you. Cannot really make out your hair style in your gravatar.

  4. poppytump

    I’d certainly have’ lingered longer ‘with a view like that out of the window PP 😉
    what a place . We never got that far south on our trip … maybe one day .

    • The South Island is breath-takingly beautiful. I would go back there in a heart beat

      • poppytump

        I can well imagine . We got to amongst other places down there Christchurch and the Marlborough Vineyards … *slurp*
        and a great journey on the tranz alpine railway to Greymouth !

        • Yes I also did the Transalpine, one of the best train trips in the world. Poor earthquake ravaged Christchurch. Did you see it before or after the quake?

I would love to get to know you, please leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

