Travel Theme : Benches

What an interesting theme Ailsa and every one seems to be in love with benches. Go to Ailsa’s blog “Where’s my backpack” to see hundreds of benches.

Jack and I have created our garden over the past 15 years and Jack loves putting seats every where for people to sit and relax and enjoy our garden. It is only an average suburban section but it winds and wanders around the house and today I counted the seats and was surprised to find we have 7 benches and a couple of old chairs. So here they are, enjoy your slow look around and take plenty of time to “sit and let the joy of life catch up with you”ย 

A seat in the sun

A seat in the sun. First stop is straight out from the back door

You will have to share this seat with Jacks quirky frogs

A little further along and you will have to share this seat with Jacks quirky frogs

 Round the side of the house and here is another one to sit on

Round the side of the house and here is another one to sit on. The gate takes you round to the front garden. Follow me…

Turn right through the gate and there is a seat and a small table to rest your cup of coffee or glass of wine

Turn right through the gate and there is a seat and a small table to rest your cup of coffee or glass of wine

 

Did you notice Buddha has joined you at this seat?

Did you notice Buddha has joined you at this seat?

Through the gate and over to another seat

Through the gate, past the bird bathย and over to another seat

 

The plants are joining you on this bench

The plants are joining you on this bench

A nice shady area to "sit a while and let the joy of life catch up with you"

Over along the side of the gardenย a nice shady area to “sit a while and let the joy of life catch up with you

Can you spot Elvis serenading you?

Can you spot Elvis serenading you? That is another of Jack’s sculptures, we call this “the blues corner”

Not really a bench but I thought I would show you our shabby chic metal chairs, found at the rubbish tip.

Not really a bench but I thought I would show you our shabby chic metal chairs, found at the rubbish tip.

I hope you have enjoyed a leisurely stroll around our garden. Thanks for this theme Ailsa.

 

Categories: benches, photography, travel theme | Tags: , , , | 26 Comments

Post navigation

26 thoughts on “Travel Theme : Benches

  1. beautiful thank you … i would like to sit in that shady place ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Great photos. You must have a lovely garden. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. What a fabulous variety of seating areas! I can see exactly why visitors would love to sit and ponder a while, your garden is beautiful ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Reblogged this on gypsy life and commented:

    These are the benches in our garden that I would like to add to the new “Benches Series” that Jude of “Travel Words” has started.
    For the first series Jude has asked us to show her benches in gardens. So I am reblogging this post to show you our benches.

    • What a rich response to Jude’s benches challenge. Your garden looks wonderful, and seats are a good way to highlight its charms. I’ve seen them many times as a focal point in a landscape or a way of showing a landscape differently, or showing different seasons. Hurrah for benches! And there is Christine.

      • I love this challenge that Jude is hosting. Now I will have another reason to troll through my photos to round up the bench images, and another thing to watch out for as I take more photos…

        It is sad as I was so looking forward to meeting Christine, but she lives on in my memory.

  5. A most beautiful and peaceful garden and I feel privileged that I had a chance to enjoy it in person. A labor of love that you and Jack have created. Lovely post, Pauline.

    • It was very special to share that short time with you Jane, it makes blogging a special experience when you get to meet fellow bloggers from other parts of the world.

  6. Oh, I must come and visit you and Jack on my next Aussie trip. I have my name on the Buddha bench with a good Aussie Shiraz waiting for me please… ๐Ÿ™‚

    Thanks for joining in PP – I look forward to seeing more benches from you this year ๐Ÿ˜€

    • Great challenge Jude, I’m sure you are going to get lets of followers.
      Nice one “mate” we will sit and watch the sun set and swap stories over that wine, but be warned you will need mossie repellent on…

  7. benches in the shade, there should be lots more of them !!!! nice pics !

  8. I missed it first time around, Pauline so, many thanks to Jude for introducing the theme. No sitting out there in the rain, I guess ๐Ÿ™‚ With the gentle ‘plash’ off the leaves ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. You have a lovely garden ๐Ÿ™‚

I would love to get to know you, please leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

