A Word a Week Photo Challenge : Yellow

I love yellow, it is my favourite colour. It is the colour of happiness and sunshine and it makes me smile.

Thanks Sue for choosing it for this weeks challenge. Pop over to her post to have a yellow fix.

I also love flowers and capturing their beauty with the camera.

Here is a selection of my favourites.

Yellow rose

Wattle emblem of NSW

 WA wild flower

Western Australia flowers

Xantharea

Frangapani

Water lily

Sunflower

These next two photos were taken in 1990 at Hickstead Equestrian Centre in Sussex when I spent a year working there as a house keeper for Douglas Bunn. It was an interesting and exciting year but after the very cold winter I was happy to go back to New Zealand, the country I called home at that time. They were taken on film and scanned into the computer so they are not very sharp, but they bring back so many memories.

I have put these in for my Northern Hemisphere friends to remind them that under the snow and ice, while you are in the grips of winter spring is just around the corner and waiting to burst out in a riot of colour and rebirth.

Daffodils

A field of golden daffodils

Categories: A word a week challenge, flowers, memories, photography, yellow | Tags: , , , | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “A Word a Week Photo Challenge : Yellow

  1. beauteousness!

    • Thanks Cindy, love that word it is a new one to me. Just looked it up and you are right, it is in the dictionary… 🙂

  2. amazing bright yellow flowers, an excellent wattle shot, I love them all!

    • My favourite subject for photography. I love it when a challenge comes along where I can showcase them. I notice you often have flowers on your posts too

  3. Beautiful! What is the name of the rose?

    • G’day thanks for dropping by I’m sorry I do not know its name. I took it’s photo in the Christchurch NZ botanical gardens about 2 years ago

I would love to get to know you, please leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

