Weekly Photo Challenge : Spring

Do you ever forget the country of your birth?

Does your memory of those long ago childhood days still linger?

My memories of my English childhood remain, I remember vividly how spring crept into the landscape, nudging aside the grey, cold winter blanket. How the delicate green shoots slowly emerge, lambs frolic and birds are busy nesting. But most of all I remember the daffodils. That glorious sight of fields of golden daffodils swaying in the wind.

A host of golden daffodils

A host of golden daffodils

I would love to be able to paint this photo. It is a bit blurred, but the colours say spring.

I would love to be able to paint this photo. It is a bit blurred, but the colours say spring.

 

I left England in 1961 and revisited in 1990. I stayed for a year and once more experienced the 4 distinct seasons. These photos were taken with a film camera, then scanned onto the computer. Not very good reproduction, a bit blurry, but they bring back the memories of those gorgeous, golden daffodils. 

In Australia spring does not have that dramatic entrance, here the landscape is dictated by the weather more than the seasons. In the wet it is all shades of green with the sumptuous tropical flowers in bloom. In the dry it is brown and in survival mode. Now we are on the threshold of winter, the temperatures are falling and, hopefully, the rains will come.

We are in Western Australia for this winter.  If the rains do come it will be a good spring and the renowned wild flowers of Western Australia will carpet the land. It was a good year in 2010 when we last travelled through this area and here is a post I will share with you of the beauty of spring in WA when they have had a good wet winter.

***********************

Over here in Australia spring is a memory as we move into winter, but go here to see how spring has sprung in the Northern Hemisphere.

 

Categories: Australia, “postaday″, flowers, photography, spring, weekly photo challenge, Western Australia | Tags: , , , , , , | 22 Comments

Post navigation

22 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge : Spring

  1. Oh yes! There are!! 🙂

  2. Dorothea Mackellar, ‘My country.’ those memories.

  3. I did wonder how long you had been here Pauline … we just can’t do daffodils in the English way can we?

    • No, I tried to grow them in NZ when I lived there, with out any luck, they really need that cold and frost to flower so well. But I really think I prefer to live in this climate…

  4. I am a huge daffodil fan as well and have been enjoying the many daffs I have planted in the yard. And spring here in northern new england is just like you describe. A slow unfolding but at the same time dramatic as winter subsides.

  5. Beautiful daffodils.

  6. I am really looking forward to seeing your future posts after the rains. So glad you have happy memories of spring in UK. It is a lovely day today, all lilac, bluebells and lily of the valley around here.

    • Thank you for calling by and leaving a comment. I can smell your beautiful spring flowers in my memory. Yesterday we did get more rain.

  7. Daffodils are what I consider to be the first flower of spring, though technically you have snowdrops and crocuses before them. They are just so cheerful though, especially in large drifts alongside the hedgerows in the countryside. They shout “Goodbye winter” and make my heart lift! (I hate winter in the UK especially when it is cold and wet and grey like this last one).
    I hope you have a good winter PP and the spring flowers bloom again 🙂
    Jude xx

    • That is a lovely comment Jude, I agree about the message daffodils sing to us after a grey winter. Winter over here is mild compared to yours. Hope your spring and summer are a compensation for your winter

      • I am enjoying the spring – it is glorious this year, somehow all that rain and no frost seems to have spurred everything on to be twice as good as normal. I even have fuchsias flowering that stayed outside all winter! Check out my flower blog for some beauties I captured whilst away recently!

  8. The daffodils were amazing this year. We had an unusually cold and long winter, so their bright yellow was a particularly welcome sign of hope. Love your blog. Admire your adventurous life.

    • Thanks Eileen, over here we have to treat daffodils as annuals, it is too hot for them, but I must admit much as I love them I have not tried them in my garden. But this year I will be in Canberra for winter and spring and they get it very cold so I’m expecting to get my fill of daffs and all the other lovely bulbs

I would love to get to know you, please leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

