Weekly Photo Challenge : Reward

The winner

The winner

The reward

The reward

In the dusty, red outback of Australia camel racing is a unique and exciting part of the culture. We were in Winton the day of the races, click here to come back with me and share that day.

This young woman certainly deserved her reward. (this weeks word from Krista at WP)

Categories: Australia, “postaday″, camel races, outback, photography, reward, weekly photo challenge | Tags: , , , , , , | 29 Comments

Post navigation

29 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge : Reward

  1. I do love this one! 🙂

    janet

  2. Brilliant! Best one I have seen for this (difficult) challenge!

  3. OMG, I thought riding a camel was challenging for me and yet she can do the race. Congratulations!

  4. Excellent! That’s one kind of race I’d love to see.

  5. LOL, who knew?!?!? Love the way they painted the numbers right on the camels!!! Excellent choice for the challenge!!

  6. The action shot looks fantastic.

  7. That is a fantastic photo! Wow, you captured the emotions and the movement of the camel so well!

    • It was a fantastic day Lisa. I was amazed at how brave those camel jockeys were. They had no control just had to hang on and hope for the best.

  8. Great days activities, we used to live in Norseman and often went into Coolgardie to see the camel races. While traveling up north I took a photo of two camels towing a vehicle on the road. Something different thats for sure.

  9. This is certainly on my bucket list, go see a camel race. They are such incredible animals! I would also love to go see the boat races in Alice Springs!

    • Ha yes, did you know they had to cancel the boat races this year because they had water in the river!!!! It has been a very wet summer over most of Australia this year

    • Oh I have just been over to your blog and see you are living in Australia. What part are you in? Did you get those storms just recently?

  10. Haha that is funny, that they had to cancel boat races due to water in the river – and so typically Australian 🙂 I’m in Victoria. In my particular neck of the woods we get continuous unpredictable weather (4 seasons in a day style). Keeps you on your toes I suppose!!

I would love to get to know you, please leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

