5 Photos, 5 Stories : Day 1

This is a new challenge going the rounds. I’ve enjoyed following along with some of the stories; then!!! Shock, horror Gilly of “Lucid Gypsy” nominated me to have a go…

I have spent the weekend ruminating on various ideas and last night, in bed and unable to sleep, I suddenly had a “light bulb moment”… I would like to revisit some of the iconic places I have seen in past travels. They are tucked away in a large cupboard in the garage in photo albums. Remember them? No digital back in the 1980’s. So thank you Gilly for giving me this excuse to dust them off, scan them and relive some of my memories.

So come with me to India, 1988…

Taj Mahal in the morning mist, the sun is just lighting the .

Taj Mahal in the morning mist.

The mist, like a veil covering a beautiful woman’s face, shrouded this magnificent mausoleum. I stood in awe gazing at one of the most beautiful buildings in the world. A building that took 20 years to create and build and dedicated to the memory of Mumtaz Mahal, the woman who Shah Jahan loved so deeply and grieved for when she died giving birth to their 14th child.

Taj Mahal

Taj Mahal

I stood transfixed, the crowds swirled around me and I was oblivious to the chatter as gradually this magnificent building, a tribute to love, revealed its glory. It is overpowering in size and splendour. The crowds clustered around its base appear as ants scurrying around.

The second part of the challenge is to pass the baton on to another blogger. So today I would like to nominate (drum roll please) Desley Jane of “musing’s of a frequently flying scientist”. DJ has a fascinating job that spins her around Australia and the world and her photos are magnificent. Go across and say G’day to her and explore her world.

There’s no obligation DJ, have fun if you want to join in!

The challenge is to just “post a photo each day for five consecutive days and attach a story to the photo. It can be fiction or non-fiction, a poem or a short paragraph and each day nominate another blogger for the challenge”.

 

Categories: 5 photos 5 days, India, memories, photography, Taj Mahal | Tags: , , , | 15 Comments

Post navigation

15 thoughts on “5 Photos, 5 Stories : Day 1

  1. scrapydotwo

    Interesting! I did it twice that’show much I enjoyed doing the 5X5X5 challenge

  2. Lovely nostalgic post, Pauline!

  3. Transfixed is very apt. No matter how many photographs you have seen of this magnificent building it still manages to take your breath away when you see it for real. And what a very interesting theme to use for the challenge. I wonder where you will take us next…

    • I agree Jude it is certainly one of those buildings that photos cannot convey the majesty and scale of it. It made me gasp in awe when I first saw it. The next place makes me gasp in quite a different way…

  4. Fantastic! Definitely the stuff of dreams for me, Pauline. 🙂 Out with the magic carpet. Where next, indeed?

  5. Pingback: 5 photos, 5 stories : Day 3 | Memories are made of this

  6. Pingback: 5 Photos, 5 Stories : Day 4 | Memories are made of this

  7. That dreamy first photo is simply perfect in every way. Wonderful.

    • Thanks, That was in the days of film Tish and never really knew what I had got till I got back home 3-4 weeks later and had the films developed.

I would love to get to know you, please leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

