5 Photos, 5 Stories : Day 2

Gilly of “Lucid Gypsy” has passed this challenge on to me and I am taking the opportunity to revisit some of the most memorable places I have travelled to in the past,

Yesterday the Taj Mahal took my breath away. Today it is the Grand Canyon that took my breath away in a very different way…

img065

Standing on the edge of this huge gash in the surface of the earth I look down in to the most spectacular gorge in the world. It is September 1991 and it is hot, very hot. The sun radiates and bounces heat off the sheer rock walls and we have made the decision to walk/scramble down the  Bright Angel Trail into the canyon as far as the lookout over the Colorado River. Can you see that winding track way below? That is where we went. The track is steeply rutted by the mules that carry non-walkers up and down and the walking is difficult. Do you hop from the top of each rut, or do you high step over each raised segment. I tried both. In the beginning on the way down The sun shone on the opposite walls and I enjoyed looking around taking photos, chatting to other walkers. Mission accomplished, The view over the Colorado River was spectacular.

(Follow this link to the other post I did with more photos about the Grand Canyon walk)

As I did not have a hat I poured water over my head from the barrel that held drinking water for the mules and fashioned one of those temporary head covers from my handkerchief, you know the sort with a knot in each corner? Then it was time to head back up.

The sun had swung round to the other side and it was a ball if fire, we were in its full glare. Those ruts now became mini mountains. Every muscle in my legs ached, sweat dripped from every pore. My water bottle was empty and my temporary hat was useless. The only way out was up, so head down, two steps and stop, two more steps and wishing I had booked a mule as they brushed by us.

Finally I staggered over the top rim 8 hours from when I started down. What a huge feeling of exhilaration and achievement I felt as I looked back down into that formidable canyon.

The second part of the challenge is to pass the baton on to another blogger. So today I would like to nominate (drum roll please) Sue from “Words Visual“. Sue can work magic with photos and I look forward to see what she will choose for this challenge. Go across and say G’day to her and explore her world.

There’s no obligation Sue, have fun if you want to join in!

The challenge is to just “post a photo each day for five consecutive days and attach a story to the photo. It can be fiction or non-fiction, a poem or a short paragraph and each day nominate another blogger for the challenge”.

 

 

Categories: 5 photos 5 days, Grand Canyon, photography | Tags: , , | 15 Comments

Post navigation

15 thoughts on “5 Photos, 5 Stories : Day 2

  1. Wow! What an adventure, Pauline! And many thanks for nominating me, I shall certainly take up the baton (probably tomorrow) 🙂

  2. Oh my goodness, you are much more adventurous than me! That’s an incredible trail to embark on in the heat! We were there in March and it was too icy to hike – that’s my excuse and I’m sticking to it 😉 And is that Jack perched on the edge? Enough to give you a heart attack!

    Blimey PP whatever next…

    • Yes that is Jack, he loves heights he was a rigger in his younger days working on the Snowy Mountain scheme. “By gum lass” wait and see… (that is a clue…)

  3. Pingback: 5 photos, 5 stories : Day 3 | Memories are made of this

  4. Pingback: 5 Photos, 5 stories | WordsVisual

  5. enjoyed this take on the grand canyon – I have heard a few different experiences – like we know someone that was there but it was too foggy and rainy to even see most of it. anyhow, what an exhausting success – ha! The color int he photo (and Jack) is really a nice shot…

    I was there as a child and do not recall much –

  6. Pingback: 5 Photos, 5 Stories : Day 4 | Memories are made of this

  7. Another one on my list! Actually probably top of it 😦

I would love to get to know you, please leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

