Weekly Photo Challenge : Monochromatic

grey-5_2448x3264

“Jenny says, in a monochromatic image, a distinct point of focus, or focal point, is also a necessity. Great photographs immediately engage a viewer’s eye and attention, and especially in images where the colours tend to bleed together, the photographer needs to choose the focus with intention. The inclusion of a pop of colour in an otherwise monochromatic palette can also result in a dramatic image,. “

This was not taken as a “monochromatic” photo, but when I saw today’s challenge I immediately thought of this photo. All shades of grey and blue but with that pop of red.

What do you think, can I call this “monochromatic” ?

Categories: monochromatic, photography, postaday, weekly photo challenge | Tags: , , , | 24 Comments

Post navigation

24 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge : Monochromatic

  1. I think that counts, the red really shouts!

  2. Predominantly monochromatic….. gives the same effect….and the red is a perfect pop! Like the train engine……how old, do you know?

    • I found that train in a railway museum quite a few years back now. I think it would be the early 1900’s. It was used in the logging industry…

  3. You can call it what you want, it is still a great photo! Actually I thought you might go for a forest of eucalyptus trees they are pretty monochromatic. I looked for some in my photos, but the only decent image I found had rather a blue sky!

  4. Ah the orange is perfect here!

  5. The difference in colour is awesome. It really pops! 😀

    • Thanks Dianne I decided this wasn’t truly monochromatic so I’ve had another search through my photos for “take 2″…

  6. As always a great photo, and a great take.

  7. It’s perfect, a great photo of that big old engine 🙂

I would love to get to know you, please leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

