A Flower a Week : Frangipani…

garden sx40 pc 017_4000x3000

In the sub tropical climate I live in, for me, the crowning glory of the summer flowers are the frangipani (plumeria)

flowers jan 2013 006_4000x3000

Get closer and admire the variations of colour. This is a variety called “fruit salad”

flowers frangipani colours of summer jan 2013 006

Get even closer and be intoxicated with the sweet perfume.

Black_edited-Frangipani

This white with the yellow throat is the more common variety and it has the strongest perfume.

*****************

Nalinki on “Angles and views” is hosting a weekly series called: Flowersoverflowers”, it will be posted every Tuesday. The idea is to bring some more colorful pics of nature into our blogosphere

Categories: flowersoverflowers, frangipani, photography | Tags: , , | 17 Comments

Post navigation

17 thoughts on “A Flower a Week : Frangipani…

  1. Beautiful

  2. I love this shrub/tree. I used to have it in our garden in Nairobi. But it was best of all when you came upon it down on the Mombasa coast where its wonderful scent fused with sea smells. Aaaaaah!

  3. I adore your fruit salad 😀 I am breathing in deeply right now… sniffffffff!!!

  4. I’ve only seen the pale yellow ones, beautiful, I love fragranced flowers

  5. such beautiful flowers!

  6. Wow! How beautiful the colors in the “fruit salad” are. I have never seen that before. Thanks for such a delightful treat.

  7. Oh lovely Pauline!

  8. I love the subtle smell of these flowers hanging in the air. This grows plentily in my home state Kerala, in India.

I would love to get to know you, please leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

