Garden Photography : Monochrome…

This month Jude is asking us to dip our toe into the interesting subject of the monochrome image.

In Jude’s words : ” I’m not confining this month to pure B&W, you can look for images that are composed from tones of one colour, or perhaps a sepia tint suits your subject better. As always, it is up to you how you interpret this month’s theme.”

I find monochrome difficult to visualise, so for this first week I decided to see what my garden would look like in black and white.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I use this photo as my header so you have a comparison. What do you think?

Jude has a very stunning image in her blog “Earth laughs in flowers” do have a look at it. She also gives  some very good tips on different ways to present a monochrome photo. So now I will see what I can produce for next week.

Categories: garden photography challenge, monochrome, photography | Tags: , , , | 22 Comments

Post navigation

22 thoughts on “Garden Photography : Monochrome…

  1. It looks much denser in b&w because it’s less easy to distinguish individual plants. I rather like it, but of course the original colours are best!

  2. I like this very much.

  3. If you have some sort of Photo editor it would be nice to see it in a green tint. I love your garden and especially the colorful plant by the tree.

    • That is an interesting suggestion, I will play with it. The plant is a croton, they come in so many different shades I have quite a few of them scattered around.

  4. Love it! Perfect for monochrome because we want to know where that pathetic leads…..

  5. Nooooo! Path, not pathetic…..

  6. I love that you included both versions!

  7. I prefer the colour version, and I have to agree that a green tinge may look good. BUT this is a great way to start studying the effects of converting.

    What I DO like about the B&W version is that now the shape of the palm leaves dominate, whereas in the colour version it is the colour of the bromeliads that hit you (hope I have ID them right). I’d like to get closer in on both these plants.

    • A green tinge would be interesting. I have been out in the garden this morning playing with plant portraits in B & W in the camera. 🙂 There are no broms in this photo (surprisingly) The shrub on the left is a croton called African Bells. I must take a close up of this as it has interesting leaf formations.

      • Now that’s what I’m looking for – interesting leaf formations – it will be interesting to see what you come up with PP.

  8. I like it, the textures are great, but I also prefer colour!

I would love to get to know you, please leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

