Thursday Doors : Matamata…

A couple of weeks back I showed you the charming doors in the Hobbiton village.

The village was built on a farm a short way out of the town of Matamata. This was a small, quiet country town till Peter Jackson decided it was the ideal destination for the making of the “Lord of the rings”. It has now built a whole tourist industry around Hobbiton and Matamata has become a major tourist destination. The first stop is the Information centre, in town, to buy tickets to visit Hobbiton and be immersed in all things from the Middle Earth kingdom.

The information centre is built to look like an oversized Hobbiton house, it is quite charming, and it has interesting doors.

Hobbiton pc sx40 233_4000x3000

Hobbiton pc sx40 237_4000x3000

Hobbiton pc sx40 019_4000x3000

Even the service doors around the back have character.

Hobbiton pc sx40 024_4000x3000

Thursday Doors is a weekly feature allowing door lovers to come together to admire and share their favorite door photos from around the world. Feel free to join in on the fun by creating your own Thursday Doors post each week and then sharing it, between Thursday morning and Saturday noon (North American eastern time)

Categories: Hobbiton, Matamata, photography, Thursday doors | Tags: , , , | 33 Comments

Post navigation

33 thoughts on “Thursday Doors : Matamata…

  1. WOW!

  2. They look like fairy tale doors:)

  3. Now I really want to replace the doors in my house…and my roof….and the walls…sigh.

  4. I would love to visit!

  5. So imaginative & wonderful!

  6. I just caught a glimpse of Frodo!

  7. I love all these doors! I want to come visit! The Hobbit is my favorite book in the whole sage. I can totally see Bilbo Baggins in house just like these.

    • After visiting this village I went to see the movie and I could recognise the places in the village were I had taken photos.

      • I can’t get into the movies. I’ve tried, but the books are brilliant! I end up quitting the movie a 1/4 of the way in. My kids have watched them all so I’ve caught bits and pieces here and there, and I’m always disappointed.
        For this particular series the books are where I’ll go. They’re just so much richer.
        Other movies I’ve walked away and said the books are better, but have stayed with the movie, not this series though. I can’t put my finger on why exactly but it’s the books for me all the way.

  8. That must be such a fun place to visit – thanks for sharing these 🙂

  9. I love this place and would gladly go there again. The surrounding landscape is lovely as well, with sheep and rolling hills. Beautiful shots!

  10. Yes! More Hobbiton, up close and personal. What a beautiful spot!! We love The Hobbit and LOTR books. We enjoyed the LOTR movies, despite the deviations from the books, but The Hobbit got a bit weird and game-like.

    janet

  11. I just love those buildings. Maybe we could add an extension onto our house in the same style, hmmm, that’s got me thinking.

  12. Such a fun little place – love the creativity!

  13. They are simply beautiful I would love to visit. Lovely pictures gorgeous.

I would love to get to know you, please leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

