Thursday Doors : Tupare New Zealand…

tupare nz-3_3670x2753

In 2014 we visited friends in New Zealand and they took us to visit Tupare a magnificent 3.6 hectare garden and  beautiful Tudor-style home.

In 1932 Sir Russell and Lady Matthews started to create a garden from a gorse covered wilderness on the edge of the Waiwhakaiho River. They called it Tupare, which means ‘garland of flowers’. After a lifetime of artistic creation and love, the couple relinquished their home to the National Trust  to ensure the protection of Tupare as part of New Zealand’s heritage. I invite you to follow this link to walk with me around the stunning gardens. But today I am going to show you the beautiful carved, solid Kauri doors.

tupare nz-2

Take a closer look…

tupare nz-1

More photos of the inside of this house are on my previous post and also the story of how lucky we were to have a private viewing.

These wardrobe doors fascinated me.

tupare nz-5

And look at the detail of the door fastener.

tupare nz-4

I hope you followed the link and went for a walk around the garden, it is one of the most beautiful gardens I have photographed.

*******************

Thursday Doors is a weekly feature allowing door lovers to come together to admire and share their favorite door photos from around the world. Feel free to join in on the fun by creating your own Thursday Doors post each week and then sharing it, between Thursday morning and Saturday noon (North American eastern time)

Categories: photography, Thursday doors, Tupare | Tags: , , , | 42 Comments

Post navigation

42 thoughts on “Thursday Doors : Tupare New Zealand…

  1. Pauline, I wish I had time to take the tour with you, but I’m getting ready for work. I’ll have to come back to visit this fascinating and beautiful place with its magnificent doors. The gardens must be stunning.

    janet

  2. A lovely post and a lovely Tudor building and doors.

  3. What a marvellous place, Pauline!

  4. Lovely post. Definitely on the list for my next trip !

    blog: https://girlintriguedby.wordpress.com/

  5. Simply stunning. 🙂

  6. The carvings on the main door are quite impressive and that textured chip-carving on the wardrobe doors is rather unusual too.
    Nice entry again this week 🙂

  7. Amazing! I love the wardrobe doors’ ‘hardware’!

  8. So beautiful. I love the fabric in the wardrobe doors and I took the tour. That house and those gardens are amazing.

  9. Just lovely!

  10. Lovely photos of a beautiful place. We stumbled on it by accident earlier in the year and had a wonderful, but brief, walk around the gardens. Next time I’ll stay longer and explore properly!

  11. What lovely workmanship!

  12. Love that door – beautiful, but so are the wardrobe doors – actually it makes more sense to me to have a cloth covering for clothes than wood, steel, or plastic!

    • Thank you for leaving a comment, nice to meet you. The cloth covering certainly looks more decorative.

  13. Oh this is a marvellous place! And the craftmanswork! I will have to go once again…

  14. Very nice; the character of the wood doors makes you feel like you’re in New Zealand.

  15. These photos are wonderful, Pauline. The entire place has a very medieval feel about it 😉

  16. The doors in this collection are amazing. I love the entrance door with the slight arch.

  17. I just love Tudor Doors very Medieval feel to it.
    Great post Pauline.x

I would love to get to know you, please leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

