Thursday’s Special : Night Photography…

Three years ago I went to a photography course in Brisbane. I learnt a lot and had a great day. (take a look here)

But that was 3 years ago and I can’t believe how the time has flown. We did touch on painting with light, (see the results in this post)  and night-time photography and I declared I would practice.

After the course we took the ferry along the Brisbane River to the train station and home. On that ferry ride I tried to capture the Brisbane skyline at night. It was not easy as the ferry was bobbing around on the swell. I tried resting on the deck rails, but they were bobbing up and down too. So I tried to time the shots when the ferry was not rocking too much.

Not totally successful as I did not practice, as I promised myself I would, so these are some of the only night-time photos I have…

night time-1_3253x2436

night time-3_3840x2880

Cardinal Guzman is Paula’s guest contributor this week and he has challenged us to try night photography and given us some very good tips to get started. Take a look at them here.

Recently I did, briefly, dabble with an on line Photography course. This is one of the photos I submitted for this course. We had to try for atmospheric night-time shots. This is a neighbour’s place that I liked the look of. It says warmth and comfort to me. What do you think?

night time-4_3761x2721

 Travel has previously got in the way for any serious study. But now I am having a stay at home year I’m hoping to practice more “taking off the automatic” photography, and more art, and more gardening, and more…..

Thank you CG for prodding me into action…

But time will tell. Watch this space!!!!

Categories: Australia, night photography, photography, Thursdays special | Tags: , , , , | 20 Comments

Post navigation

20 thoughts on “Thursday’s Special : Night Photography…

  1. Oh I wish you just the best ‘stay at home’ year. These night photographs are just stunning. Thank you. 🌵

  2. Lovely photos 🙂

  3. I reckon the rocking ferry was a photo enhancer: these shots are unlike any night time shots I’ve seen, and I love them, especially the first one with that swathe of gold. The neighbour’s house also glows. I’m looking forward to the creativity staying put unleashes.

  4. Well, your rocking-ferry shots have turned out rather well, Pauline! Here’s to your creative ‘stay at home’ year 😀

  5. Do you think you will actually manage to stay home that long?!?

  6. Night photography is a special art – and you need a fast lens and a tripod to get it really sharp. It’s not a skill of mine and I have far too many photo subject obsessions to add yet another. I really wish I could photograph the stars though! Enjoy your stay at home year – more painting perhaps?

    • I have the tripod, but usually leave it at home!!! My camera is not a DSLR but still I will give it a go. Yes I am going back to my art group this week, that may inspire me to get going again.

  7. Night photo’s are really lovely , your course was a success.
    A year at home sounds like that will be interesting .x

  8. Oh yes, warmth and comfort. It is lovely, Pauline. Thank you for joining in.

  9. Night photos from a moving boat is impossible to get right – solid ground is a must. I tried the same thing once and even though I knew beforehand that I wouldn’t get and sharp images, I just had to try anyway! 😀
    Your neighbors place looks inviting and cozy.

I would love to get to know you, please leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

