Thursday Doors : Armidale Cathedral…

Armidale heritage bus tour pc 184_3000x4000

My eye was caught by the colourful peeling bark of this gum tree in the grounds of the Armidale Catholic Cathedral. Then I noticed how the door matched the bark colour.

Armidale heritage bus tour pc 178_3000x4000

**************************

Thursday Doors is a weekly feature allowing door lovers to come together to admire and share their favorite door photos from around the world. Feel free to join in on the fun by creating your own Thursday Doors post each week and then sharing it, between Thursday morning and Saturday noon (North American eastern time)

Categories: Armidale, Thursday doors | Tags: , , , | 25 Comments

Post navigation

25 thoughts on “Thursday Doors : Armidale Cathedral…

  1. That bark is stunning. Did the door follow its example, I wonder? And presumably the bark colour is seasonal. Does the door change colour as the bark does?

    (No. I didn’t whizz home! My WordPress app changed blogs when I wasn’t looking. I usually notice. I’ve deleted the post from snippetsandsnaps.)

    • It was the tree that caught my eye back in Armidale, the door was a bonus as at the time I was not so focused on doors.

  2. And where’s the merry, merry king of the bush hiding?

  3. Pauline, I love the way you set up that first shot, highlighting both an unusual tree and a beautiful door.

    janet

  4. As Janet said that first shot set the table quite nicely – well done 🙂

  5. Beautiful door to the cathedral. I found the bark of the gum tree very interesting since we don’t have them here in the north. Thanks for sharing!

  6. I loved the way you used the branch to frame the door!

  7. That bark is beautiful and complements the door so well! And then the door is stunning! Great shots! 🙂 – Amy

  8. What a great eye you have, Pauline – matching the bark with the door. Wonderful shot 🙂

  9. Wow, that bark is gorgeous. Nice that you found a door in the process of admiring it ❤

  10. Beautiful subjects and photography. I love how the door is stepped back into the opening and I really like the opening shot with that tree. I don’t recall ever seeing one before.

  11. Yes it does, i wonder if it was planned. Is the tree really that green under the bark? or is it that my screen needs calibrating?

    • Your screen is ok Gilly, it really is that colour green. Many of the gums loose their bark and display amazing variety of colours

I would love to get to know you, please leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

