Garden Photography : February Monochrome…

 

Jude (Earth laughs in flowers) is hosting a weekly challenge related to garden photography. Each month has a different theme. February is black and white or tones of one colour. Look for texture, shape and patterns. The subject matter is entirely up to you, but should be loosely garden related.

Last week Jude inspired me with her stunning entry (see it here). So, this week, I have been playing around with Photo Shop Elements.

First I converted this Anthurium covered in raindrops to black and white.

Then I noticed the dark leaf in the bottom right corner came out black. Not a good look.

flowers aperture priority pc 017 bnw smudge_4000x3000

So I used the clone tool, then the smudge tool to take away the black stroke. But it still didn’t look right.

anthirium-1_3467x2738

Next I took it to Light Room and first cropped some of the bottom area then “fiddled” with the settings.

Now I really had the bit between my teeth…

flowers aperture priority pc 017 find edges dark strokes_4000x3000

So I took the original converted photo back to PS Elements and used the filters. First I used the “find edges” then “dark strokes”

This time I cloned out all the back ground. Over an hour had whizzed by…

flowers aperture priority pc 017 water colour filter cloning_4000x3000

Then I went mad, but it was all fun… 

flowers aperture priority pc 017 water colour filter cloning twirl_4000x3000

Jude has another lovely green monochrome image this week. Take a look at it.

Categories: black and white, garden photography challenge, memories, monochrome, photography, photoshop | Tags: , , , | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “Garden Photography : February Monochrome…

  1. Cool pictures Pauline, you have had fun! I really like the sketchy one and how you managed to end up with a cyclone! Just goes to prove that when taking a photo we have to be careful what is in the background 😀

    • It was fun Jude. I haven’t used PS Elements for quite a while, now I tend to use LR more.

      • I used LR once for RAW files but couldn’t get on with it. Maybe I need to have another look. I think you can get a free trial.

        • I use it with jpeg (don’t have raw) there are lots of tutorials on YouTube.You also get a months free trail before you make a decision to buy.

  2. What a whirlwind of play. Different pleasures from each different image. My favourite is the second one.

  3. I rather like the ‘find edges’ version. I’m impressed that you note all your steps, I never do and hence can never do the same thing twice!

I would love to get to know you, please leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

