Thursday Doors : Bangalow

bangalow doors-4_4000x3000

Walking along the main street of Bangalow I noticed this door. No indication of what lay behind it, and it was firmly padlocked.

bangalow doors-3_4000x3000

The shop to the left was a very exclusive Italian wear boutique. Italian leather shoes, very expensive, hats, belts, silk shirts, perfume. All way out of my budget. But, inside, I could see an entrance way that appeared to lead to a court-yard. So curiosity got the better of me and with a “just looking” to the sales assistant. I walked through the shop and round into the court-yard, and into a Spanish hacienda. Well what I thought a hacienda would look like…

bangalow doors-1

That is the back of the padlocked door. Down the other end of the court-yard was another equally impressive door.

bangalow doors-2_3695x2839

Bangalow is a vibrant, artistic community with a population of just under 2000, but this picturesque, heritage listed village is a gem of hidden talent. Art galleries, book shops, a unique and stunning glass gallery, a shop that invites children to touch and says not to worry, it will pay for any damages. Seventeen cafes and restaurants to choose from. Come with me when I visited and fell in love with this charming township. Take a look here. I know you will want to visit it.

********************

Thursday Doors is a weekly feature allowing door lovers to come together to admire and share their favorite door photos from around the world. Feel free to join in on the fun by creating your own Thursday Doors post each week and then sharing it, between Thursday morning and Saturday noon (North American eastern time)

Categories: Australia, Bangalow, memories, photography, Thursday doors | Tags: , , , | 28 Comments

Post navigation

28 thoughts on “Thursday Doors : Bangalow

  1. These are wonderful doors, Pauline

  2. Lovely doors in such a wonderful looking location. Thanks for sharing these 🙂

  3. basildonkitchens

    I love when great doors lead to interesting courtyards 🙂 Beautiful…thanks for sharing.

  4. I want to live there!

  5. At first I thought it was Mexico, it is very Spanish hacienda looking. Love those massive doors.

  6. With the crosses it looks vaguely mission-like. And I adore that table! In fact I adore that courtyard! Thanks for having a nosey PP 🙂

  7. Pauline, I love the whole thing, doors and all. I thought at first that “bangalow” was a play of some sort on “bungalow.” 🙂 This is so much better.

    janet

  8. morselsandscraps

    Doors value added! You don’t only photograph doors: you walk through them into quite unexpected places.

  9. Beautiful photography!

  10. Oh, that door you found on the opposite end of the courtyard is gorgeous! I love the top piece of the door frame.

    I also prefer the inside of that door with the padlock. Lovely finds this week!

  11. So beautiful!

I would love to get to know you, please leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.