Thursday Doors : Hobbiton…

Come with me to the magical world of  those tiny mythical people, the Hobbits.  Click here and experience the wonder when I was transported into the rolling hills, deep in the central cow country of New Zealand that had been transformed into the Middle Earth village of Hobbiton.

But in this post I am just going to show you some of the doors I photographed that day.

Hobbiton pc sx40 117_4000x3000

Hobbiton pc sx40 076_4000x3000

Hobbiton pc sx40 064_4000x3000

Hobbiton pc sx40 112_4000x3000

The attention to detail created the feeling that any moment Frodo Baggins and Sam Gamgee would walk out of one of the doors.

************************

Thursday Doors is a weekly feature allowing door lovers to come together to admire and share their favorite door photos from around the world. Feel free to join in on the fun by creating your own Thursday Doors post each week and then sharing it, between Thursday morning and Saturday noon (North American eastern time),

Categories: Hobbiton, memories, photography, Thursday doors | Tags: , , | 48 Comments

Post navigation

48 thoughts on “Thursday Doors : Hobbiton…

  1. graydaysandcoffee

    wonderful wonderful wonderful!

  2. Cool pictures. Did you see Bilbo Baggins? Pretty awesome that you got to see this!

  3. Thank you so much for the photos, Lord of the Rings is my most favourite book, The houses are just like I imagined them:))

  4. They are all absolutely delightful! Thanks so much for sharing these 🙂

  5. What an absolute delight!

  6. Pauline, these are gorgeous as well as cute! We want to get to New Zealand one day for an extended stay and although I’ve read it’s quite expensive to visit Hobbiton, we’d almost have to go there. We love LOTR, book and movies.

    janet

    • Yes it is (in my opinion) an expensive $75 for the bus to get there. You cannot drive there yourself, it is through private land. BUT I thought it was definitely worth it, especially if it is a bright sunny day, and you do get unlimited glasses of ale or cider at the Green Dragon pub….

    • btw did you follow the link through to the rest of the village?

  7. Excellent choice, well done!

  8. Where’s the “Love” button? If I click the “Like” button REAL HARD, will it say “LOVE!!!!”? Thank you for the delightful visit. 🙂

  9. They are wonderful little places I’d like one as a writing den! The second photo with the limited colours is fabulous!

  10. Love them, love them, LOVE them. I wish I could visit but it’s soooooooooooo far. Thanks for posting.

  11. You really nail this challenge every time with such varied doors.

  12. what an attention grabber, thanks for sharing

  13. Oh these are great! I love Hobbit doors!

  14. Adorable. There’s a place I’d like to live!

  15. I love these! The Hobbit is my favorite book in the Saga. I expected to see Bilbo Baggins emerge from one of the hobbit holes with yellow doors. They’re adorable!

  16. Wonderful doors.

  17. ….and what about Bilbo?

  18. What an incredible, magical place, Pauline! 😀

  19. So, so, so lovely! Thanks for sharing

  20. Pingback: Thursday Doors : Matamata… | Memories are made of this

  21. Sigh…! I’d love the one with the yellow door and the chair outside as a summer house at the bottom of my garden. Lovely little houses and beautifully showcased by you PP 🙂

  22. So much cuteness here! I can hardly stand it 🙂

I would love to get to know you, please leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.